Citizen of the Year Awards - 2024

Published on Thursday, 28 September 2023 at 10:00:00 AM

Who makes a real difference in your community?

Each year, the Community Citizen of the Year Awards give local governments around the state the opportunity to acknowledge the contribution and celebrate community engagement of people within the community.

In particular we encourage people from diverse backgrounds to consider nominating, including Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, women, young people, those living with disabilities and people from culturally diverse backgrounds.

Let’s Reflect, Respect and Celebrate community contribution across our state. We’re all part of the story.



In choosing the recipients of the Community Citizen of the Year Awards, regard is given to the nominee’s achievements in the year immediately prior to receiving the award, as well as their past achievements and ongoing contribution to the community.
A nominee need only be nominated once to be considered. The number of nominations received per nominee bears no weight in their selection.


Nominees for the individual award categories (Community Citizen of the Year, Young and Senior) must demonstrate active positive community engagement and meet the following criteria:

  1. Significant contribution to the local community. 
  2. Demonstrated leadership on a community issue resulting in the enhancement of community life. 
  3. A significant initiative which has brought about positive change and added value to community life. 
  4. Inspiring qualities as a role model for the community. 

Nominees for the group/event award category must demonstrate community engagement and meet any or all of the following criteria:

  1. Group/event that creates community engagement. 
  2. Group/event that creates initiatives for new employment. 
  3. Created significant initiative that brought positive change.

All nominees should uphold standards of conduct that will not risk placing the Award Program or Local Government’s reputation into disrepute.

Consideration should also be given to Gender, Age, Ethnicity, Cultural background and Field of Endeavour to help ensure recipients are representative of our diverse society.


  • A person must be nominated by another person to be considered for an Award. Self-nominations are not accepted. 
  • One nomination is sufficient; multiple nominations should not necessarily strengthen an individual’s chances of selection. 
  • Individuals can be recognised in one category only, so if they cross over multiple categories, a decision needs to be made which category they will be awarded in. 
  • Nominees should reside or work principally within the local government authority presenting the award. 
  • Awards may be granted posthumously in recognition of recent achievements. 
  • Groups of people will not normally be eligible except when meeting the criteria for a community group. 
  • A couple or partnership with equal standing for the achievement/contribution may be recognised in an individual category. 
  • A person may receive an award more than once in recognition of outstanding continued community contribution or involvement in a different initiative. 
  • Individuals must be at least 16 years of age on 26 January, though younger nominees may be considered for exceptional contribution. Definition of exceptional contribution is at the discretion of the local government/council selection committee. 
  • Unsuccessful nominees/finalists may be nominated in future years. 
  • Sitting members of State, Federal, and Local Government are not eligible. 
  • Nominations must be apolitical in their nature. 

Reflect, Respect and Celebrate community contribution. We’re all part of the story.


Back to All News