Shire of Donnybrook Balingup returns to an Elected Council

Shire of Donnybrook Balingup 30 October 2023



Shire President and Deputy President elected at Special Meeting.

The return of an elected Council follows the appointment of Commissioner Gail McGowan in December 2022 by John Carey, then Minister for Local Government.

The community response to the 2023 election reflected a vision for moving forward. A record 17 candidates nominated for election, capturing strong interest from electors at the 'Meet the Candidate' evenings at Yabberup, Donnybrook and Balingup, with 42% of electors voting.

Councillors Anita Lindeman, Lisa Glover, Alexis Davy, Grant Patrick and John Bailey were elected to a four-year term, with Councillors Peter Gubler, Anne Mitchell, Deanna Shand and Vivienne MacCarthy elected to a two-year term.

All nine Councillors made their declaration at the Special Council Meeting held on Thursday 26 October 2023, followed by the election of Shire President Vivienne MacCarthy and Deputy President Lisa Glover.

Shire President Vivienne MacCarthy said:

"I am honoured to be elected and to lead our community forward in a return to an elected Council. Vice President Lisa Glover and our new Councillors provide diverse talent, and a great will to work together to represent the interests of our community. I have a strong belief in performance that is led by values, and I am excited and grateful for the opportunity to bring this to my role as the new President for the Shire of Donnybrook Balingup."

Vivienne MacCarthy, Shire President.

ENDS.





