

MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

Purpose: Swearing in of new Councillors and Election of the Shire President and Deputy Shire President

Held on Thursday, 26 October 2023

Commenced at 4.00pm

Shire of Donnybrook Balingup Council Chamber, Donnybrook

Kim Dolzadelli Acting Chief Executive Officer

03 November 2023

Disclaimer

Please note the items and recommendations in this document are not final and are subject to change or withdrawal.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1	DECLARATION OF OPENING / ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS		
2	ATTENDANCE		
	2.1	APOLOGIES	4
	2.2	APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE	4
3	ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE PRESIDING MEMBER		
4	SWEARING-IN OF NEW COUNCILLORS		
5	ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT		
6	ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT		
7	ALLOCATION OF SEATING ARRANGEMENTS		
8	CLOSURE		

SHIRE OF DONNYBROOK BALINGUP SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL MINUTES

Held at the Council Chamber Thursday, 26 October 2023 at 4.00pm

1 DECLARATION OF OPENING / ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

Acting Chief Executive Officer – Acknowledgment of Country.

The Acting Chief Executive Officer acknowledged the traditional custodians of the land, the Wardandi People of the Noongar Nation, paying respects to Elders, past, present and emerging.

The Acting Chief Executive Officer declared the meeting open at 4:00pm and welcomed the public gallery.

The Acting Chief Executive Officer advised that the meeting is being live streamed and recorded in accordance with Council Policy EM/CP-2. The Acting Chief Executive Officer further stated the following:

"This meeting is being livestreamed and digitally recorded in accordance with Council Policy."

"Members of the public are reminded that no other visual or audio recording of this meeting by any other means is allowed without the permission of the chairperson."

"Whilst every endeavour has been made to only record those who are actively participating in the meeting, loud comments or noises from the gallery may be picked up on the recording."

2 ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS PRESENT

COUNCILLORS	STAFF
Anita Lindemann	Kim Dolzadelli – Acting Chief Executive Officer
Lisa Glover	Ross Marshall – Director Operations
Alexis Davy	Loren Clifford – Acting Manager Executive Services
Grant Patrick	Samantha Farquhar – Administration Officer -
	Executive Services
John Bailey	
Peter Gubler	
Deanna Shand	
Anne Mitchell	
Vivienne MacCarthy	

Gail McGowan – Special Guest.

PUBLIC GALLERY

13 members of the public in attendance.

2.1 APOLOGIES

Ben Rose – Chief Executive Officer. Belinda Richards – Acting Director Corporate and Community.

2.2 APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil.

3 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE PRESIDING MEMBER

Certainly, the last twelve months have been very interesting. We have had our trials and tribulations, but I think we have pulled through that. What I see in front of me at this table is a great representation of our community and we have a lot of talent come to Council.

I'd like to formally extend my congratulations to the newly Elected Members of the Council. I think this moment really marks a significant milestone in our local government's history. We are all rearing to go and ready to embrace fresh leadership and commitment to our community. Your local government shapes our community's future, and the journey ahead holds lots of opportunities to make a positive difference. You are not alone on this journey; you have the support of your fellow Council Members and certainly have the full backing of the Shire Administration as well.

Please engage with our residents, listen to their concerns, and involve them in shaping our local government for more inclusive and effective governance. May your journey be marked as success, unity, and legacy of a positive change for our community.

Welcome.

4 SWEARING-IN OF NEW COUNCILLORS

Gail McGowan (Special Guest) invited each Councillor Elect to undertake the Declaration of Office.

Each Councillor Elect was invited to address the gallery prior to taking their allocated seat.

By alphabetical order, each Councillor elect undertook the Declaration of Office followed by a short speech.

- Cr John Bailey
- Cr Alexis Davy
- Cr Lisa Glover
- Cr Peter Gubler
- Cr Anita Lindemann
- Cr Vivienne MacCarthy
- Cr Anne Mitchell
- Cr Grant Patrick
- Cr Deanna Shand

5 ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Acting Chief Executive Officer invited nominations for the position of Shire President for the ensuing two years.

Cr Anita Lindemann nominated herself to the position of Shire President

Cr Vivienne MacCarthy nominated herself to the position of Shire President.

Cr Anne Mitchell nominated herself to the position of Shire President.

Cr Anita Lindemann withdrew her nomination.

Councillors Mitchell and MacCarthy made a short speech, prior to votes being cast.

The Councillors each received a ballet paper and had the opportunity to vote for their choice of Shire President.

The vote was 6/3 in favour of Cr Vivienne MacCarthy.

Gail McGowan invited Cr MacCarthy to undertake the declaration of office as President. After signing, Gail McGowan Congratulated President MacCarthy.

President MacCarthy then said a few words before moving on to the election of Deputy Shire President.

6 ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

President MacCarthy invited nominations for the position of Deputy Shire President for the ensuing two years.

Cr Peter Gubler nominated Cr Lisa Glover to the position of Deputy Shire President and Cr Lisa Glover accepted.

Cr Anita Lindermann nominated Cr Alexis Davy to the position of Deputy Shire President and Cr Alexis Davy declined.

President MacCarthy invited Cr Glover to undertake the declaration of office as Deputy President. President MacCarthy Congratulated Deputy President Glover. Deputy President Lisa Glover then said a few words.

Before moving on to the seating arrangements, President MacCarthy stated the following.

Gail I would like to thank you for encouraging Candidates to step up for election.

At a time when we thought we would struggle to achieve a quorum, we saw a talent pool of 17 Candidates come up on our Ballot Paper. I think that was a lot to do with yourself. You went on to provide insights and guidance to the Candidate process and we welcomed your encouragement.

Thank you very much for this process.

7 ALLOCATION OF SEATING ARRANGEMENTS

In accordance with s.8.1 of the *Shire of Donnybrook Balingup Meeting Procedures Local Law 2017*, the Shire President will allot, alphabetically, a position at the Council table to each Member.

The seating was rearranged, and each Council Member took their seat in alphabetical order.

8 CLOSURE

The Shire President advised that the next Agenda Briefing Session will commence at 2:00pm,15 November 2023 prior to the Ordinary Council Meeting commencing at 5.00pm, 22 November 2023 in the Shire of Donnybrook Balingup Council Chamber.

The Shire President declared the meeting closed at 5:00pm.

These Minutes were confirmed by the Council as a true and accurate record at the Ordinary Council Meeting held 22 November 2023.

Vivienne MacCarthy

PRESIDENT - SHIRE OF DONNYBROOK BALINGUP